First Five for Fall

I t’s a specific time of year when suddenly overnight you box up your sandals and purchase fresh opaques. It’s when New York mornings go from subtly silent to nervously rowdy. The weather change is a clear indication of back to school, but if you’re a working woman like me, the abrupt change doesn’t trigger a fever twitch any longer. Instead, it’s a signal that I have to focus on a smooth wardrobe change and prepare to fly through the “stuntin’ season.”  I named it this because it allows little fashionistas to pull out there “kill them kindly” furs, “knock their heads off” over the knee boots, and “this costs more than your bed linens” cashmere wraps.

Fall offers many options for making a statement or keeping it classic. This fall take some time to decide which way you want to go. Start now – don’t over spend and I promise by thanksgiving you will be well prepared for any kind of cold Mother Nature tosses your way.

Before I begin to rattle off the must have list, let’s start with a few basic principles. First, camel is your friend. Browns, especially cognacs and nudes are not only accent colors but they can serve as great basics for your essential buys. Black is classic, feel free to mix it up though – nothing says chic like a navy dress paired with black opaque stockings and perfect black pumps.

1. Dig Through the Trenches. To me the tan belted trench is a symbol of class, sophistication and femininity. No matter what you wear with her, she will always tighten you up and make you feel like a million bucks. The catch, this one is a splurge. To be perfectly polished you have to find the right structured trench. The fit is most important and the price, well you might have to hand over the card and close your eyes. The secret, shop the outlets on this one.
2. Practicality and Style. For fall, nothing says “Good Morning” better than cold linoleum tiles. So when you begin trudging through the chilly city let’s not let style slide to the sidelines. When you find that perfect Boot, flat riding or the new chucky heel worker, BUY IT! Most stores are going to offer a “get it early” deal, so scoop them quickly so you won’t have to settle for the next best thing. The Secret, buy them a half size bigger and pair with cashmere cozy socks.
3. Be a TKO with an OTK. This is for all of my strumpets! For the ladies who say, “Screw practicality I need a pair of boots that I can show off in!” The Over The Knee boot is the one thing to sex things up a bit. Its fall, and if you hate the cold it might just make you happy enough to feel the fall sunshine. The secret, if you are lucky enough to find the Red Bottom “Unique” boot in your size, you will for sure be the only girl on your block to have them. P.S  Keep them on when the lights go off.
4. From the Runway to the Runway. If you are anything like me, you are trying to squeeze in one last vacation to get your rays on. So invest in an “Anything but plain Plane Outfit.” This can be a chic sweat suit or perfect jean and boot combo. The trick is to look amazing but feel comfortable. Remember that you never know who will be traveling that same weekend, or better yet – happen to be on the same flight! The secret, have your fall aviators, printed scarf and glam travel satchel on deck to complete the look.
5. Not your Grandmas Sweater. Be cool and casual with the ever basic Over Sized Sweater. It can be super cozy, or ever so whimsical, but the over sized sweater is sure to make any outfit trendy. Pick a knit that will be versatile with the ever changing weather. You will want to layer it over jeans or a nice dress, so choose your color wisely. The secret, it doesn’t have to be black. Navy, grey or even a cool print will make this item serve its true purpose.

So remember it’s not about quantity but quality! If you plan on keeping these items for the entire season, think before you buy. Plan your shopping and don’t just purchase something out of pure necessity. You can be practical and fabulous!  Happy Fall Ladies!

This entry was posted in fashion and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to First Five for Fall

  1. joannagenius says:

    Post Perfection, girls. Post Perfection!! ❤

  2. MoreAndAgain says:

    *Thumbs up on the post*
    I totally agree with regards to trench coats (I happen to be a trench coat lover). The right one just screams “classic”.

    I am still trying to find the OTK boot that speaks to my soul. A few have come very close, but there’s a specific look I want, and I haven’t quite found it (well, not in my budget anyway.lol).

    • joannagenius says:

      Is it just me or is it always when you find what you’ve been searching for.. that inspiration piece.. its the most EXPENSIVE THING ON THE SHELF/RACK?

      UNFAIR!

      Mytastessurpassmybudget =/

  3. kai says:

    Well ladies, I will post any good finds. Let me know what you’re looking for and I’ll let you know if I cross paths with it. Ask the girls, I shop A LOT, so who knows what I’ll run into! And Jo, yes, the most-expensive fairy gets me every time!

  4. Danni says:

    For me and my expensive ass my budget, I keep it classic but splurge on a few key pieces. The trench is a must, a great riding boot (Coach had some AMAZING ones), and I stacked up on some great over-sized sweaters last year so I know I’ll continue to add to that this season as well. I know when I shop, I think to myself “How can I get the most out of this?” I spend the majority of my time at the office, but I know that my wardrobe selections have to work well after work and on the weekend as well. Maybe we’ll do a segment on how wear something five different ways for the budget conscious fashionista! For the ladies where money ain’t a thang, we ALWAYS have something for you!!

  5. peach1285 says:

    i love fall winter!!!

    Def all about outerwear and accessories for me! Expensive and timeless are my stragedy! But i have to keep in mind the nudes and earth tone colors for fw. I usually stay safe and pick black or blue.

    Thanks Reevey Town!

  6. tammyllc says:

    This is the first year I’ve looked forward to fall attire. Thanks for this, ps, I need a couple of pairs of nice riding boot because those are my -throw on, go on’s- for the cold

  7. shenelle mays says:

    What I love most is the practical aspect of all the must haves as well as what they can do for your wordrobe’s esteem. Pai is a fashionista
    So I’m taking this and running with it. Ummm can you say a saturday in soho!?!?!
    Great post I love your fashion advice!

  8. lovelyshenelle says:

    ok……. can someone say a Saturday in SOHO ! No Pai but really great outline for fall basics and must haves ! I feel like even the lost can be found with this one !

  9. Crystal says:

    LOVE THIS POST KAI! But the OTK boot never seems to fit my small calf do you have any suggestions?

  10. kai says:

    Crystal, stretch leather for sure, with a full zip will help as well. They have pleather that usually comes in stretch; the balance is finding expensive looking stretch leather that won’t break the bank.

  11. upload photo says:

    Please tell me it worked right? I dont desire to sumit it again if i don’t have to! Either the blog glitced out or i am an idiot, the second selection doesnt surprise me lol. thanks for a good blog!

Leave a Reply

