Wear YOUR Shoe Size!

The following post has absolutely nothing to do with shoes. No Bottegas, Loubs, or Zanottis were harmed in the creation of this post.

By “wearing your shoe size”, it can apply to many difference scenarios. You may take it literally, for example. I’ve seen many a lady out and about with her heels hanging over the backs of her shoes because they were too tight and rubbing her. Fail. It may also mean to stay in your lane. Some times we have a problem doing that and it’s great when we catch ourselves before we have a “Who gon’ check me boo?” moment. But what I mean by wearing your shoe size is this: don’t try to do things that are larger than your current means. Yes, to put it plainly, live within your means.

I know it may sound trivial to some, but I had to put it out there. And I don’t mean simply blowing half your paycheck on those OTK boots that you had to have. I think we’ve all had a one-off here or there and the guilt that goes with it. You forgive yourself and move on and vow to never do it again (at least until next season). What I’m talking about is the portrayal of an entire LIFESTYLE that isn’t even true! Old skool calls it frontin’. New school calls it stuntin’. Whatever label that you want to give it, I’m going to call it just plain RAGGEDY!

I was on the phone with one of my girls earlier. She was complaining to me about a certain co-worker who is just a nuisance in the office due to her raggedy behavior. This co-worker, let’s call her TaKeesha, was bragging about her upcoming trip to Cancun to everyone in the office. Now, she wouldn’t have gotten a side-eye if everyone didn’t know how much each one makes. My girl was thinking “How is she going to Cancun if our salaries are all basically the same?” But it doesn’t stop there. TaKeesha is also a perpetual fixture in the club and she’s always shopping. Life seems to be great–except she’s got a little black cloud called Rent hanging over her head that she’s two months behind in. She owes ConEd about three months. And, oh yeah, she can’t even afford lunch everyday. How does my girlfriend know all of this you ask? TaKeesha also has a big mouth and confides in people she shouldn’t in the office.

I know. You are probably thinking, this girl is a hot mess. Yes she is. And what’s even more sad is that there are plenty just like her. It’s not an issue of being underpaid, underemployed, or as we like to do these days, blame it on the “recession”. It’s about prioritizing and money management darling! It’s about knowing that your last name ain’t Jones (or Combs, or Kardashian). Nevermind being real with others; it’s about being real with YOU. You should know that your worth isn’t in the LV purse that you carry EVERYWHERE because it’s LV. You should know that your worth is not found in a bottle that is marked up 7 times its retail price in a club. And it’s hard, because society places a ton of pressure on weak people to pretend to have something when they “ain’t got it”.  “Fake it til you make it”. Right? Not so much. Wait until you do. You will value it more because of what it took to get to the point when you actually CAN afford it. I think it’s fine to have something you want and save up to get it. But when you are spending money on things you don’t need before you get it, you set yourself up for years of pain and suffering ahead.

I ask, what’s wrong with not being able to go out all the time? Did you really have to buy that $300 sweater dress? Who’s going to remember your Bottega Veneta bag?

About The Girls

sweatpants, hair tied, chillin' with no makeup on. and taking over the world.
This entry was posted in Life Lessons, random and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wear YOUR Shoe Size!

  1. lovy says:

    I couldn’t agree with you more! I recommend seeing the movie “The Joneses”if you haven’t seen it yet. It is truly time for people to stop living a lie and be who they truly are. There are certain things in my life that I don’t find to be a necessity and as a result I eliminate irrelevant expenses (i.e. Cable). The amount of money saved a year by eliminating the unnecessary items adds more money in my pocket to splurge on the true. necessities.

  2. joannagenius says:

    You’re totally on my wavelength this week cuz!

    Totally on my wavelength!!!! Great Post!

  3. danni says:

    I’m all about cutting the fat this year. I’m living with my lowest possible overhead and am Queen of bare neccessities. Why? I set a goal of being totally debt free by next year and I’m sticking to it. And if I can’t don’t something, I won’t! In the end, money in the bank makes me happy, not pleasing superficial people!

  4. Cy says:

    I totally agree with this post. AMEN!

Leave a Reply

